Special Collections Department
403 Parks Library
Iowa State University
Ames, IA 50011-2140

RS 24/11
Iowa State University

Department of Athletics

Men's Track and Field
Records, 1908-[ongoing]

Descriptive summary


Iowa State University. Department of Athletics. Men's Track & Field






1.26 linear feet (2 document boxes and 2 half-document boxes)

collection number:

RS 24/11


University Archives, Special Collections Department, Iowa State University.


Administrative information


Open for research

publication rights:

Consult Head, Special Collections Department

preferred citation:

Iowa State University Department of Athletics, Men's Track & Field Records, RS 24/11, Special Collections Department, Iowa State University Library.


Historical note

The Iowa State University Men's Track and Field program has a history that goes back to 1905. There have been thirteen head coaches of the program with arguably the most successful being Bill Bergan. Bergan's squads won multiple indoor and outdoor Big 8 Conference titles. Overall, Iowa State won twelve outdoor Big 8 Conference titles (1944-1945, 1981, 1983-1986, 1988, 1991-1994) and eight indoor conference titles (1944-1946, 1984, 1986, 1990-1991, 1993).

The Men's Track and Field team uses the Lied Recreation Center and Southwest Athletic Complex for indoor and outdoor meets, respectively.


  • Jack Watson (1905-1913)
    Ned Merriam (1914-1921)
    Art Smith (1922-1924)
    Sam Willaman (1925-1926)
    Bob Simpson (1927-1936)
    George Brenall (1937-1950)
    Burl Berry (1951-1959, 1962-1963)
    Phil Delavan (1960-1961)
    Bob Lawson (1964-1967)
    Jerry Barland (1969-1976)
    Bill Bergan (1977-1992)
    Steve Lynn (1993-2007)
    Corey Ihmels (2008-2013)
  • Martin Smith (2013-present)


Collection description

The collection (1908-[ongoing]) contains news clippings, media guides, student written histories of the program, a results compilation from 1976, and event programs.