Special Collections Department
403 Parks Library
Iowa State University
Ames, IA 50011-2140

RS 24/14/1
Iowa State University

Department of Athletics

Men's Cross Country

Records, 1911-[ongoing]

Descriptive summary


Iowa State University. Department of Athletics. Men's Cross Country




1911- [ongoing]


0.63 linear feet (3 half document boxes)

collection number:

RS 24/14


University Archives, Special Collections Department, Iowa State University.


Administrative information


Open for research

publication rights:

Consult Head, Special Collections Department

preferred citation:

Iowa State University Department of Athletics, Men's Cross Country Records, RS 24/14, Special Collections Department, Iowa State University Library.


Historical note

The Iowa State Men's Cross Country program began intercollegiate competition one year after the program's inception (1908). Iowa State has earned 13 conference titles (1930-1931, 1974, 1981, 1987-1991, 1993-1994), two national titles (1989, 1994), and was twice the national runner-up (1990-1991). Two individuals have won national titles for Iowa State as well (John Nuttal, 1989; Jonah Koech, 1990).

Iowa State dedicated its cross country course, located north of Mortensen Road and west of the Towers Dormitories, in 1995. The course was the first in the United States that was designed exclusively for competitive cross country racing.

Head Coaches

  • Robert Simpson (1928-1936)
  • George S. Bertnall (1937-1951)
  • Burl V. Berry (1952-1962)
  • Bob Lawson (1963-1969)
  • Jerry Barland (1970)
  • Bill Bergan (1971-1995)
  • Kevin Bourke (1996-2001)
  • Corey Ihmels (2002-2013)
  • Martin Smith (2013-present)


Collection description

The collection (1911-[ongoing]) contains news clippings, media guides, histories of the program written by students, and individual and team results from various cross country meets. The results show relative finishes compared to athletes from other schools.