Special Collections Department
403 Parks Library
Iowa State University
Ames, IA 50011-2140

RS 24/15/1
Iowa State University

Department of Athletics

Women's Volleyball
Media Guides, 1979- [ongoing]

Descriptive summary

creator: Iowa State University. Department of Athletics. Women's Volleyball
title: Media Guides
dates: 1979- [ongoing]
extent: 0.42 linear ft. (1 document box)
collection number: RS 24/15/0/6
repository: University Archives, Special Collections Department, Iowa State University.


Administrative information

access: Open for research
publication rights: Consult Head, Special Collections Department
preferred citation: Iowa State University Department of Athletics, Women's Volleyball Media Guides, RS 24/15/0/6, Special Collections Department, Iowa State University Library.


Historical note

Iowa State University Women's Volleyball began play in the 1973 season. Games were played mostly at regional tournaments and invitationals, with single-game dates mixed in between during the early years. The Big 8 began volleyball conference play in 1982, although the Big 8 Conference tournament dated back to at least 1977.

Iowa State had a program-best second place finish in the final year of the Big 8 (1995). That season would also see Iowa State's first appearance in the NCAA tournament, making it to the second round before losing to Notre Dame in three games.

The beginning of the Big 12 Conference was not kind to Iowa State Volleyball. The program won only 13 league matches and 59 matches overall in the first nine seasons of the Big 12. Once Christy Johnson was hired as head coach (2005), Iowa State began to be competitive with the better teams on the schedule and notched its first winning season in eleven years, going 16-15. Iowa State was not invited to the NCAA tournament that season, but did make three consecutive appearances beginning the next season (2006-2008).

Iowa State advanced to the second round of the NCAA tournament (2006), following a 4th place finish in the Big 12. The team went a step farther the following season, making the Sweet 16 of the NCAAs, defeating two top 20 teams along the way (2007). That year also saw Iowa State achieve their first-ever national ranking of #17 at the conclusion of the season. Most recently, Iowa State advanced to the Elite 8 of the NCAA tournament in what was supposed to be a rebuilding year. In the tournament, ISU avenged a regular season loss to Northern Iowa and defeated two top 10 teams which helped put them within a game of the Final Four (2008).

Iowa State Volleyball has an overall record of 619-650-10 through the 2008 season.


Head coaches:

  • Gloria Crosby (1973-1974)
  • Kay Pundt (1975)
  • Diane Hale (1976-1977)
  • Sharon Hitsman (1978-1980)
  • Mary Fischl (1981-1984)
  • Vicki Mealer (1982-1992)
  • Jackie Nunez (1993-1997)
  • Kerry Miller (1998)
  • Linda Crum (1999-2004)
  • Christy Johnson (2005- present)


Collection description

The collection (1979- [ongoing]) contains media guides for the Women's Volleyball program.  The guides have information about players, coaches, games, and program history.



The collection is organized chronologically.


Container list







Media guides




Media guides




Media guides




Media guides




Media guides




Media guides