Special Collections Department
403 Parks Library
Iowa State University
Ames, IA 50011-2140

RS 24/20/0/0
Iowa State University

Department of Athletics

Women's Gymnastics
News Clippings, 1958- [ongoing]

Descriptive summary

creator: Iowa State University. Department of Athletics. Women's Gymnastics
title: News Clippings
dates: 1958- [ongoing]
extent: 0.21 linear ft. (1 half document box)
collection number: RS 24/20/0/0
repository: University Archives, Special Collections Department, Iowa State University.


Administrative information

access: Open for research
publication rights: Consult Head, Special Collections Department
preferred citation: Iowa State University Department of Athletics, Women's Gymnastics, RS 24/20/0/0, Special Collections Department, Iowa State University Library.


Historical note

The Iowa State women's gymnastics program began as a varsity sport in the 1973-1974 season. The program has an all-time record of 397 wins, 436 losses, and 4 ties through 2008. Iowa State has appeared in 13 NCAA regional competitions (1994, 1997-2008), 3 NCAA finals (2000, 2005-2006), and 1 NCAA Super 6 (2006), which is the final competition for the national title.

K.J. Kindler (2000-2006) was the most successful coach in the program's history, going 58-26-1 over her six seasons at Iowa State. Kindler joined the Iowa State gymnastics program as an assistant coach (1992) before being promoted to head coach (2000). She was named Big 12 Coach of the Year three times (2004-2006) and National Coach of the Year once (2005). Kindler was replaced by Jay Ronayne when she left to take the gymnastics head coaching job at Oklahoma (2006).

Janet Anson (2004-2007) is Iowa State's most decorated gymnast. Her awards and achievements include: 2006 Big 12 Gymnast of the Year; 2006 ISU Female Athlete of the Year; 2006 1st Team All-American (all-around, floor, vault); 2005 1st Team All-American (vault); 2004 ISU Female Athlete of the Year; and 2004 Big 12 Newcomer of the Year. Currently, Anson is a volunteer assistant coach with the gymnastics program.

Head Coaches:

  • Char Christiansen (1973-1975)
  • Karmen Booth (1975-1979)
  • Donna Kramer (1979-1985)
  • Mike Sharples (1985-1992)
  • Amy Pyle (1992-2000)
  • K.J. Kindler (2000-2006)
  • Jay Ronayne (2006- present)


Collection description

The collection (1958- [ongoing]) contains newspaper articles that have been written about the Iowa State University women's gymnastics team members, coaches, and events.



The collection is arranged chronologically.


Container list







News Clippings




News Clippings




News Clippings




News Clippings