Special Collections Department
403 Parks Library
Iowa State University
Ames, IA 50011-2140

RS 24/22
Iowa State University

Department of Athletics

Women's Tennis
Records, 1973-[ongoing]

Descriptive summary

creator: Iowa State University. Department of Athletics. Women's Tennis
title: Records
dates: 1973-[ongoing]
extent: 0.63 linear ft. (3 half document boxes)
collection number: RS 24/22
repository: University Archives, Special Collections Department, Iowa State University.


Administrative information

access: Open for research
publication rights: Consult Head, Special Collections Department
preferred citation: Iowa State University, Department of Athletics, Women's Tennis Records, RS 24/22, Special Collections Department, Iowa State University Library.


Historical note

Iowa State Women's Tennis began varsity play in the 1973-1974 season. From 1984 to 1983, Women's Tennis shared a head coach with the Men's Tennis team. This was discontinued as a result of poor finishes amongst league competition. The program competed in the Big Eight Conference before the formation of the Big Twelve Conference (1996).

Head coaches:

  • Dawn McDonald (1973-1975)
  • Linda Lander (1975-1978)
  • Christa Townsend (1978-1983)
  • Jim Doerr (1983-1986)
  • Jay Louderback (1987-1989)
  • Mike Henrich (1989-1991)
  • Michele Conlon (1991-2008)
  • Armando Espinosa (2008- present)


Collection description

The collection (1973-[ongoing]) contains news clippings, media guides, and statistical and roster information about the 1973-1974 season. There are also two student-written histories about the early years of the program.


Collection list

RS 24/22/0/0

Women's Tennis News Clippings

RS 24/22/0/6 Women's Tennis Media Guides
RS 24/22/1 Women's Tennis Subject Files