Special Collections Department
403 Parks Library
Iowa State University
Ames, IA 50011-2140

RS 24/24/0/6
Iowa State University

Department of Athletics

Women's Cross Country
Media Guides, 1978-[ongoing]

Descriptive summary

creator: Iowa State University. Department of Athletics. Women's Cross Country
title: Media Guides
dates: 1978-[ongoing]
extent: 0.21 linear feet (1 half document box)
collection number: RS 24/24/0/6
repository: University Archives, Special Collections Department, Iowa State University.


Administrative information

access: Open for research
publication rights: Consult Head, Special Collections Department
preferred citation: Iowa State University, Department of Athletics, Women's Cross Country Media Guides, RS 24/24/0/6, Special Collections Department, Iowa State University Library.


Historical note

The Iowa State University Women's Cross Country program began in 1973. The early years of the program proved to be very successful. Iowa State won eight Big 8 Conference Championships (1975-1979, 1981, 1983, 1990), two U.S. Federation Championships (1973-1974), and five National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) Championships (1975-1978, 1981).

Iowa State dedicated its cross country course, located north of Mortensen Road and west of the Towers Dormitories, in 1995. The course was the first in the United States that was designed exclusively for competitive cross country racing.

Head coaches:

  • Chris Murray (1972-1979)
  • Ron Renko (1979-1985)
  • Bill Bergan (1986)
  • Dick Lee (1987-2007)
  • Corey Ihmels (2007-2013)
  • Martin Smith (2013-present)


Collection description

This collection (1978- [ongoing]) contains media guides for the Women's Cross Country program. The media guides have information on current rosters and coaches, plus event schedules and a history of past successes.



The collection is arranged chronologically.


Container list







Media Guides




Media Guides