Special Collections Department
403 Parks Library
Iowa State University
Ames, IA 50011-2140

RS 24/5
Iowa State University

Department of Athletics

Records, 1929-[ongoing]

Descriptive summary

creator: Iowa State University. Department of Athletics. Men's Basketball
title: Records
dates: 1908-[ongoing]
extent: 5.46 linear ft. (13 document boxes)
collection number: RS 24/5
repository: University Archives, Special Collections Department, Iowa State University.


Administrative information

access: Open for research
publication rights: Consult Head, Special Collections Department
preferred citation: Iowa State University, Department of Athletics, Men's Basketball Subject Files, RS 24/5/1, Special Collections Department, Iowa State University Library.


Historical note

The Iowa State University (ISU) men's basketball team played its first intercollegiate game against the University of Kansas on February 20, 1908, losing 35-53. The team's first victory came on February 29, 1908, against Drake University with a score of 36-16. The men's basketball team won its first Big 6 Conference title in 1935, the same year Waldo Wegner (1933-1935) became Iowa State's first All-American. In 1944, the Cyclones made it to the final four in the NCAA tournament. In 1957, Gary Thompson (1955-1957) was the first Iowa State basketball player to have over 1000 points in his career and was also the first player to have a 40-point game.

Former Iowa State player Jeff Grayer (1985-1988) is both the Iowa State University and the State of Iowa's leading all-time scorer with 2,502 points. In addition, he set a (then) single season scoring record with 811 points in one season. Fred Hoiberg (1992-1995) is the only player in school history to finish his college career with at least 1400 points, 600 rebounds, 300 assists, and 175 steals. Hoiberg was also the first at Iowa State to be ranked in the top 10 in ten different statistical categories.

During the 1999-2000 season, the ISU men's basketball team recorded 32 wins, more than any previous Iowa State team. That season, the team earned Iowa State's highest Associated Press ranking at the end of the year, 6th place. Iowa State recorded back-to-back Big 12 regular season championships (2000-2001) and a Big 12 conference tournament title (2000).

Iowa State has played against league opponents in the Missouri Valley (1907-1928), the Big Six (1928-1947), the Big Seven (1947-1958), the Big Eight (1958-1996), and the Big Twelve (1996-present). Iowa State has made 13 appearances in the NCAA tournament since 1944 and has played in the National Invitation Tournament (NIT) three times since 1984.

Johnny Orr (1981-1994) remains Iowa State's winningest men's basketball coach with a record of 218-200. As a program, the Iowa State men have an overall record of 1148 wins and 1179 losses in 101 years (1907-2008) of varsity basketball.

Head coaches:

S. Clyde Williams


Homer C. Hubbard


H.H. Walters


R. N. Berryman


Maury Kent


Bill Chandler


Louis Menze


Clayton Sutherland


Bill Strannigan


Glen Anderson


Maury John


Ken Trickey


Lynn Nance


Johnny Orr


Tim Floyd


Larry Eustachy


Wayne Morgan


Greg McDermott


Fred Hoiberg

2010- present


Collection description

The collection (1908-[ongoing]) contains news clippings, programs, media guides, histories written by students, awards banquet information, basketball camp information, rosters, schedules, tickets information, scouting reports, and brochures from Iowa State Men's Basketball program.